Pajammy Party

Pillow fights, secrets, s'mores and scary stories. Sleeping bag not required.

This Homeland intermission was brought to you by The New York Times

“Holy shit!” I said to Jill, pausing Homeland so I could break the news without Claire Danes stealing my thunder. “I just got an email from The New York Times.”

“Whoa!” she said.

They wanted to know if I would be free for a phone interview later this week. The topic? Nail polish, of course.

But I kinda had the feeling they thought I was based in New York. So I emailed back and said I’m in the Philippines but sure, they could call me. The reply came within minutes. Was I just traveling here and did I have Skype? No and yes, I replied, I’m really based in the Philippines. “Not sure if you were looking for someone based in New York,” I added.

Yes, they were. The interview was off. “Leche!” Jill said. Strangely, she was more bummed out than I was. Truthfully, my bigger reaction was relief. Because I was already thinking, “Holy crap, if I do a Skype interview with The New York Times, does that mean I need to get a blowout and put some makeup on?”

The next day, I told Tatin about it and her reaction mirrored Jill’s. “Sayang!” she said.

Again, I was left wondering why she seemed more bummed out than I was. That was The New York Times. I almost genuflected in front of that building when I first saw it. Why wasn’t I sadder?

In the middle of EDSA traffic, it hit me. It’s just never been my dream. I like writing newspaper articles, not being featured in them. Everything I’ve done – the writing, the singing, the baking, the nail polish insanity – I’ve done because they’re fun, because I’m passionate about them, because I really enjoy them. It’s never been about fame or attention or money.

So it was with zero hard feelings that I wrote back to The New York Times,
“No worries!” Then I gave them the name of a girl based in New York who loves polish just as much as I do. Then I pressed the play button because Claire Danes was trying to save America from terrorists and, damn it, she wanted me to watch.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “This Homeland intermission was brought to you by The New York Times

  1. Thank you NYT for making Pam blog. LOL. <3

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

